top of page

Christmas Shopping DONE & 5 Gift Ideas for Boys!

Christmas is almost here!

A former post of mine explained that I am completely done shopping for Christmas before Thanksgiving... and thankfully this year is no exception! As of yesterday.... I AM DONE SHOPPING!!!

Everything has been budgeted, purchased, paid for and hidden away in my house ready for the big morning!

This includes all family and friends as well!

My method really works. Please take a minute and watch my video explaining how I make it happen.

My husband and I FIRMLY stand against debt and our Christmas gift purchases are no exception. We planned for everything and did not use a single credit card to make this year happen. Everything was purchased by way of debit card or cash. Lists were made and decisions followed.

We stuck to the plan and made it happen - and you can too!

 

I wanted to share the gifts that we decided on for our boys, ages 5 and 3. We keep everything very similar to avoid fights as well as any appearances of being unfair. They both receive that same amount of gifts as well as the same amount of money spent on both. It takes more planning but it is totally doable.

Traditionally, we do a couple of "major" gift items and then fill in with cool stocking stuffers. We do not usually do clothes for Christmas, but we do gift books to our children. We tried very hard this year to balance newer technology for our growing boys as well as continuing imaginative play indoors and outdoors.

 

1. IPads

Yes. We did. After months of the back-and-forth between myself and my husband, he won out.

We purchased an I-pad for each of our boys. The agreement at the moment is that there will be set time limitations on these gadgets as not to lose our kids to the world of technology. We got the large cases for them as well, though I know they will be damaged along the way - my husband will have to learn all of this first hand.

Either way, they are purchased and tucked away for Christmas morning. They will be so SO excited. Mommy - not so much.

I know everyone has their different views on technology in the hands of children - and some times the different opinions are under the same roof. I am taking a leap of faith here that we will be able to manage these well. Wish me luck.

 

2. Grocery Store/Market

To counter-balance the technology, I pushed for this item from Santa. I want my boys to still use imaginative play as long as possible, if not for ever. They have a wooden kitchen set that they still play with weekly, if not daily some times. This will go hand-in-hand with the kitchen set and all the play food we already have. I am very excited to see them play with this toy.

I am fully expecting the I-pads to trump this market stall in the beginning, but I am hoping they will gravitate towards it once the timer on the I-pads goes off.

This particular market is large enough that I believe my boys will play with it longer. Most that I came across were already way too small for my 5-year-old. The reviews on this item were great so I am hoping it will be worth the price!

(This item was purchased online at Child Therapy Toys for $170.00)

Link: https://www.childtherapytoys.com/products/market-stall?gclid=CjwKCAiArrrQBRBbEiwAH_6sNIwxfWMma_V3jou2MOpz0bbAHtOmQlKf7SEsrKEOiCvHBWL4UmwBhBoCGsQQAvD_BwE

 

3. Pop-Corn Maker

Not your typical gift for young-guns perhaps, but I know my children will fully enjoy this! As a family, we like to borrow movies from our local library and curl up once a week and watch it together. This popcorn machine will just enhance this experience for the boys. Plus, who doesn't love popcorn?

This gift will also come along side a new movie and two plastic "pop corn" buckets I found at Target. The large container of kernels will also be wrapped up for fun.

Santa always leaves us a "family" gift that we are to enjoy together - it is not one person's specific gift. This popcorn maker and all it's accessories is the "family gift" this year!

(This item was purchased at Target for $19.99)

 

4. Board Game.

Now that my boys are a little older, we can enjoy fun competitive board games as a family. These are always such a nice break from technology and typically provides a few good laughs (and usually tears when one of the boys loses - Hubs included).

But seriously, board games can be fun and they do truly start teaching kids to lose with grace at an early age.

Last year, Santa left the Sneaky Snacky Squirrel Game, and as the year has

passed it is just as fun to play as the day we opened it. My 3 and year old started playing a year ago, understood the rules and we all played with ease. We also received Candy Land, which was fun as well, but the Squirrel game seemed to be the most played in this household.

(This item was purchased on Amazon).

This year - as a mom, who as tried and tried to get her kids to stop with the "passing gas obsession" - I did the unthinkable. I purchased a game all about farting. Yup.

Okay, look. I saw it. It made me laugh. I can just imagine the giggles and laughs that we will have with this game - so I bought it.

No judgment people.

I sent a picture to my friend and she texted back saying she had also bought it for her 5-year-old son - so, I know I am not the only one.

(This item was purchased at Wal-mart for $14.99)

 

5. Outdoor Fort

My boys were gifted an outdoor wooden fort and it has been amazing! They love this thing and it provides so much fun for them while they enjoy the fresh air.

I have recently come across a few accessories for the fort that I think my boys will really enjoy. Each of these items comes from a different source, but most are located at Lowes or Home Depot online. These items are typically not in their stores so definitely provide yourself with enough time to order!

Currently, my favorite item I found for their fort is the pirate flag. This specific flag is currently available online at Target for $9.99!

I have also ordered a steering wheel and a telescope for their fort to jazz it up a bit! These will be "shared" gifts from Santa as well.

I DO NOT want to hear "this is my flag!" ... so yeah, nipping that in the bud!

Each of these accessories was really reasonably priced and I know my boys will definitely love them!

 

So, there you have it! I few of our gifts that we are so excited to give our boys on Christmas morning! I am hoping this posts as inspired a few ideas for those of you still trying to make decisions for the big day!

But, whatever you decide on and how ever you decided to keep your traditions alive - DO NOT pull out the credit card to make Christmas happen!!! Spend wisely friends!


POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page