top of page

Shelf Cooking FAILURE.

Shelf Cooking ...

Week 1. Smooth. Went great. Complete Success.

Week 2. I went shopping. Spent $120 at Aldi. Followed by $56 at Wal-Mart.

Slightly over the $30 mark.

Technically, if I can get the $120 worth of groceries to work for the next 4 weeks I will be on track. But I know that I will go to get produce between now and 4 weeks.

So, FAIL.

 

So - what did I learn?

I learned that a $20-30 week of groceries is very achievable for me one week out of the month [ I prefer to show once a week, so the break down works for me ].

I learned that it was very wise of me to budget for more than $30 per week for this month. Maybe that's why I didn't stick to it, because I knew I had a back-up.

I learned that my family and I do NOT do well without meat on our plates. We definitely feel deprived eating meat-less meals. We typically do so once a week with a Soup & Sand-which night; but multiple meals like this in one week was not so great. You've got to be willing to change that up a bit to make this work.

Could we do it if we HAD to - sure.

I learned that I felt a little anxious when groceries seemed low at home. I am not sure why. It made me feel really uneasy. I do not like feeling unprepared and having a low supply made me feel totally unprepared; even with a meal plan.

I learned that you can control your food budget more than any other item in your home budget. Groceries are easy to manipulate. Same with eating out - you can plan well or avoid it all together and save. This was a great way for me to see where I can cut back.

I learned I need a lot more recipes, a lot more planning and I much better attitude. I was so motivated at first and then fell into the whole "well, that's not really what I want for dinner" or my "I hate leftovers" mood - because I really do.

 

BUT! Even though I failed, I did have one successful week, which is more than I have ever done before. I wanted to properly follow through and document the reality of my fail and use it to reflect when I try this again - because I definitely will!

Getting SUPER creative, I will be able to complete this challenge one month. Next time, I plan to look at it with a more motivation than before. I might be more successful if I only give myself $120 for the entire month in my budget instead of giving myself more.

Any one else still following Jordan Page at FunCheaporFree.com?

She is sticking with it - even while her whole family went camping!

I find her very inspiring and love all of her helpful tips!

Good luck to those following through for the whole month of September!!!

POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page